American History Through Literature 1820-1870
Janet Gabler-Hover and Robert Sattelmeyer, eds. Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2006.Designed for the general reader, this set presents literature not as a simple inventory of authors or titles but rather as a historical and cultural field viewed from a wide array of contemporary perspectives. The set, which is "new historicist" in its approach to literary criticism, endorses the notion that not only does history affect literature, but literature itself informs history.
American History Through Literature 1870-1920
Tom Quirk and Gary Scharnhorst, eds. Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2006.
Designed for the general reader, this set presents literature not as a simple inventory of authors or titles but rather as a historical and cultural field viewed from a wide array of contemporary perspectives. The set, which is "new historicist" in its approach to literary criticism, endorses the notion that not only does history affect literature, but literature itself informs history.
The American Midwest: An Interpreative Encyclopedia
Richard Sisson, Christian Zacher, and Andrew Cayton, eds. Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 2007. 1890 pp. This first-ever encyclopedia of the Midwest seeks to embrace this large and diverse area, to give it voice, and help define its distinctive character. Organized by topic, it encourages readers to reflect upon the region as a whole.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Extreme Sports
(From Vendor) Douglas Booth and Holly Thorpe, eds. Great Barrington, MA: Berkshire, 2007. 404 pp. Provides numerous articles written by sports experts and athletes that describe and explain extreme sports. Also includes biographies on leading athletes, essays on extreme sports venues, and articles on social issues.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Human-Computer Interaction
(From Vendor) William Sims Bainbridge, ed. Great Barrington, MA: Berkshire Publishing, 2005. 958 pp. 2 vols. A two-volume encyclopedia of 190 articles that examine how people interact and communicate via computers, robots, information systems, and the Internet.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of World Sport
(From Vendor) Karen Christensen and David Levinson, eds. Great Barrington, MA: Berkshire Publishing, 2005. 1750 pp. An encyclopedia on the history of sports in the world. Major topics include 300 modern and traditional sports in 75 nations, cultural and social paradigms and perspectives, college and youth sports, competitions and major events, major sports venues, and the evolution of media coverage. Volumes include 500 articles supplemented by over 1,000 illustrations and sidebars.
The Business of Sports
Brad R. Humphreys and Dennis R. Howard, eds. Praeger Perspectives Westport, CT: Praeger, 2008.
Explores the business and economic dynamics of the sports industry from a diverse array of perspectives that cover the industry's macroeconomic, management, and marketing/promotion issues.
Cabell's Directories of Publishing Opportunities (Business)
The Business set includes the Cabell;s Directories in Accounting, Economics, and Finance, Management and Marketing. Faculty and students use these directories to assist them in publishing their manuscripts. Information includes: Editor information, manuscript guidelines, acceptance rate, review type process & time and type of readership.
The Century of the Gene
Publication Date: 2009-07-01
In a book that promises to change the way we think and talk about genes and genetic determinism, Evelyn Fox Keller, one of our most gifted historians and philosophers of science, provides a powerful, profound analysis of the achievements of genetics and molecular biology in the twentieth century, the century of the gene.
Climate Change: In Context
Brenda Wilmoth Lerner and K. Lee Lerner, eds. Detroit: Gale, 2008.Offers coverage of the history, politics, and ethical debates related to climate change, including the impact of climate change on daily life, trade and commerce, travel, and the future of both industrialized and impoverished nations. Provides insights on leading social issues and spurs critical thinking about the impact of environmental issues on daily life and globalization.
College Blue Book
38th ed. 2011. Guide to thousands of 2- and 4-year schools in the U.S. and Canada. Covers the expected listings and detailed descriptions, degree programs offered, scholarships, and occupational education programs.
CQ's Politics in America 2010: The 111th Congress.
Chuck McCutcheon and Christina L. Lyons, eds. Washington, DC: CQ Press, 2009.
Provides authoritative information on the members of the 111th Congress. Includes profiles of the 535 members and candid analysis of personalities, political styles, legislative agendas, political ambitions, and reputations of members at home and on Capitol Hill.
Encyclopedia of African American Society
(From Vendor)J. Gordon Melton, ed. 7th ed. Detroit: Gale, 2003. 1408 pp. Comprehensive coverage of more than 2,300 North American religious groups in the U.S. and Canada -- from Adventists to Zen Buddhists.
Encyclopedia of American Religions
(From Vendor)J. Gordon Melton, ed. 7th ed. Detroit: Gale, 2003. 1408 pp. Comprehensive coverage of more than 2,300 North American religious groups in the U.S. and Canada -- from Adventists to Zen Buddhists.
Encyclopedia of Bioethics
Stephen G. Post, ed. 3rded. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2004.
Covering a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, the set helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations.
Encyclopedia of Cancer and Society
(From Vendor): Encyclopedia of Cancer and Society. Graham A. Colditz, ed. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications Inc., 2007.
Examines the issues that surround cancer and its effects on society. Navigates through the terminology and concepts to provide a better understanding of how cancer affects us way beyond the medical conditions that are regrettably more than obvious.
Encyclopedia of Caves
David C. Culver and William B. White, eds. Amsterdam: Elsevier, 2005. 654 pp. Includes numerous articles dedicated to caves and their unique environments from leading scholars and explorers in many different countries.
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
Valerie Steele, ed. Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005.A three-volume survey of clothing, costume and fashion, presented through 640 essays, arranged alphabetically. Coverage includes the origins of clothing and body adornment, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress, as well as representative costumes from a wide range of historical eras.
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice
(From Vendor) Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice. Joshua Dressler, Ed. 2nd ed. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2002. 1780 pp. 4 vols. This uniquely interdisciplinary resource covers legal, sociological, psychological, historical, and economic aspects of crime and justice worldwide. Entries cover civil and criminal issues, from domestic violence to terrorism. Entries cite pertinent legal cases as well as publications for further information. Also includes a glossary of related terms.
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, & Addictive Behavior
(From Vendor) Pamela Korsmeyer and Henry R. Kranzler, eds. 3rded. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2009. 1656 pp. 4 vols. Explores the social, medical, legal and political issues related to drugs and alcohol and associated behaviors. Includes emerging topics and developments in the many fields of addiction studies.
Encyclopedia of Education
(From Vendor) Encyclopedia of Education. James W. Guthrie, Ed. 2nd ed. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2002. 3412 pp. 8 vols. Intended to provide a comprehensive description of the enterprise of education both within the United States and throughout the world. Approximately 900 articles offer a view of the institutions, people, processes, and products found in educational practice.
Encyclopedia of Education and Human Development
(From Vendor) Stephen J. Farenga and Daniel Ness, eds. Armonk, NY: M.E. Sharpe, 2005. 1014 pp. A comprehensive coverage of educational theory and practice from the primary grades through higher education.
Encyclopedia of emerging markets|
Publication Date: Detroit : Gale/Cengage Learning, c2013.
This business encyclopedia provides custom-written articles offering rare insight into nations with social or business activity in the process of rapid growth and industrialization, as well as highlighting key emerging industries within those economies
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society
(From Vendor) Paul Robbins, ed. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications Inc., 2007. 2736 pp. 5 vols. Provides issues, concepts, theories, examples, problems, and policies, with the goal of explicating an emerging way of thinking about people and nature.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy
J. Baird Callicott and Robert Frodeman, eds. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2009. 1127 pp. 2 vols. Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. Covers concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage.
Encyclopedia of Human Computer Interaction
(From Vendor) IGI Global. Thorough and definitive source providing coverage of everything related to the field of human computer interaction (HCI). The encyclopedia covers a wide range of HCI related topics such as concepts, design, usability, evaluation, innovations and applications of HCI in organizations around the globe.
Encyclopedia of Invasions and Conquests: From Ancient Times to the Present
(From Vendor) Paul Davis, ed. 2nd ed. Millerton, NY: Grey House Publishing, 2006. 602 pp. A comprehensive guide to over 150 invasions, conquests, battles and occupations, from the ancient times to the present. This guide offers articles on the Coalition Invasion of Iraq, the Serbian Invasion of Bosnia-Herzegovina, the Soviet & UN's Invasions of Afghanistan and much more. For high school students, military historians, members of the armed forces, history buffs and hobbyists.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
(From Vendor) Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World. Richard C. Martin, Ed. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2004. 820 pp. 2 vols. This encyclopedia looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Contains thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
(From vendor) Jay Kinsbruner and Erick D. Langer, eds. 2nded. Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2008. 5500 pp. 6 vols. Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
Encyclopedia of Management
6thed. Detroit: Gale, 2009. 1066 pp. Covers numerous topics in management theories and applications, such as aggregate planning, benchmarking, logistics, diversification strategy, non-traditional work arrangements, performance measurement, productivity measures, supply chain management, and much more.
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
(From Vendor) Karen Christensen and David Levinson, eds. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2003. 3268 pp. A six-volume survey of modern Asia, defined as extending from Japan in the east to Turkey in the west, and from Kazakhstan in the north to Indonesia in the south. Presents more than 2,600 alphabetically arranged entries covering such subjects as countries, cities, regions, natural features, religions, social issues, languages, people, events, customs, politics, and economics
Encyclopedia of Modern China
David Pong, ed. Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2009.
Provides critical information on the most populous country and most dynamic trade market in the world: the people, politics, economics, religion, philosophy, traditions, art, and literature of this ancient and enduring civilization are explored from the beginning of the nineteenth century to the present day.
Encyclopedia of Obesity
Kathleen Keller, ed. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications Inc., 2008. 1040 pp. 2 vols. Summarizes pertinent topics in obesity and related health conditions. Features topics that capture the current climate of obesity research while still addressing and defining the core concepts related to this condition. Articles address topics for a changing society that is slowly adapting to accommodate obesity, including recent lawsuits, new options for medical and dietary treatment, and the importance of prevention in children.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
(From Vendor) Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Donald Borchert, Ed. 2nd ed. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2006. 7799 pp. 10 vols. A new and updated edition of this multivolume set -- the first comprehensive new edition in almost 40 years. Containing material from hundreds of highly distinguished contributors representing the world's top universities and institutions, the second edition has a truly global perspective. It contains more than 2,100 entries -- including more than 450 new articles. Among the many topics covered are African, Islamic, Jewish, Russian, Chinese, and Buddhist philosophies; bioethics and biomedical ethics; art and aesthetics; epistemology; metaphysics; peace and war; social and political philosophy; the Holocaust; feminist thought; and much more. Additionally, the second edition also features 1,000 biographical entries on major figures in philosophical thought throughout history.
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity and Society
(From vendor) Richard T. Schaefer, ed. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications Inc., 2008. 1622 pp. 3 vols. Examines the role race and ethnicity play in society. Covers intergroup relations in the United States and the comparative examination of race and ethnicity worldwide. Over a hundred racial and ethnic groups are described, with additional thematic essays offering insight into broad topics that cut across group boundaries and impact society.
Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America
Gary S. Cross, ed. Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004.
A two-volume survey of the pursuit of leisure in the United States, from Colonial to modern times, presented through 271 alphabetically arranged entries. Coverage includes specific types of recreational activities as well as important themes in the history of leisure.
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric
(From Vendor) 2006 Oxford University Press The Encyclopedia of Rhetoric is a .comprehensive survey of one of the Western world's oldest disciplines. Its 150 entries, written by leading scholars, bring together expertise in classical studies, philosophy, literature, literary theory, cultural studies, speech, and communications in a comprehensive treatment of the art of persuasion. The Encyclopedia is the most wide-ranging reference work of its kind, combining theory, history, and practice, with a special emphasis on public speaking, performance, and communication.
Encyclopedia of Rural America: The Land and People
Gary A. Goreham, ed. 2nded. Millerton, NY: Grey House Publishing, 2008. 1341 pp. 2 vols. Includes entries that document and explain the major themes, concepts, industries, concerns and everyday life of the people and land who make up rural America, ranging from the industrial sector and government policy to arts, humanities and social and family concerns.
Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics
Carl Mitcham, ed. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2005.
This Encyclopedia considers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society. This broad coverage supports the numerous courses in applied and professional ethics and policy related to the practice of science and technology in education.
Encyclopedia of Social Work
Copyright © 2008 by National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press, Inc. The Encyclopedia contains four hundred subject entries and two hundred brief biographies of key figures in the history of social work. Clearly arranged in A-Z format, each article is fully cross-referenced and includes a select bibliography to guide interested readers to primary sources and the most important scholarly works on a given subject. The work also includes a comprehensive index and topical outline. Comprehensive in coverage and international in scope, the Encyclopedia is a valuable resource to social work practitioners, scholars, and students alike.
Encyclopedia of Special Education
Publication Date: 2007-01-02
TheThird Edition of the highly acclaimedEncyclopedia of Special Education has been thoroughly updated to include the latest information about new legislation and guidelines. In addition, this comprehensive resource features school psychology, neuropsychology, reviews of new tests and curricula that have been developed since publication of the second edition in 1999, and new biographies of important figures in special education. Unique in focus, theEncyclopedia of Special Education, Third Edition addresses issues of importance ranging from theory to practice and is a critical reference for researchers as well as those working in the special education field.
Encyclopedia of the Life Course and Human Development
Deborah Carr, ed. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2009. 1561 pp. 3 vols. Examines three key life stages from a sociological perspective, exploring how enduring experiences, as well as transitions and events such as childcare, education, stress, marriage, career, addiction, friendship, parenthood, disease, spirituality, and retirement influence the individual's life course. The life stages examined are: Childhood and Adolescence; Adulthood; and Later Life.
Environmental Encyclopedia. 4th ed
2011. Provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides current status, analysis, and suggested solutions whenever possible.
Environmental Issues: Essential Primary Sources
(From Vendor) Brenda Wilmoth Lerner and K. Lee Lerner, eds. Detroit: Gale, 2006. 515 pp. A focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Each title contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art.
Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear through the Ages.
Sara Pendergast and Tom Pendergast, eds. Detroit: UXL, 2004.
Provides a broad overview of costume traditions of diverse cultures from prehistoric times to the present day. Examines more than 430 items of human decoration and adornment, ranging from togas to turbans, necklaces to tennis shoes. Explores how and why items were created, the people who made them, and their uses. This set shows how clothing, headwear, body decorations, and footwear reflect the different cultural, religious, and societal beliefs.
Forensic Science Experiments
Pamela Walker and Elaine Wood. Facts On File Science Experiments New York: Facts on File, 2010.
Features experiments that will help students get a firm grasp on concepts in the field of forensic science. Each experiment is a self-contained unit with its own further resources, tips for the teacher, and links to the National Science Education Standards and allows students to think independently and build on their own base of science knowledge.
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law
Gale: 3ed. Covers today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important documents. Includes topics such as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, physician-assisted suicide and more.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer
Jacqueline L. Longe, ed. 3rded. Detroit: Gale, 2010.
Comprehensive survey of 120 cancers, cancer drugs, traditional and alternative treatments, side effects and diagnostic procedures.
Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of World Literature
Detroit: Gale, 2009. 1746 pp. 4 vols. Covers world authors from many periods and genres, building an understanding of the various contexts -- from the biographical to the literary to the historical -- in which literature can be viewed. Identifies the significant literary devices and global themes that define a writer's style and place the author in a larger literary tradition as chronicled and evaluated by critics over time.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, 4th ed.
4thed. Detroit: Gale, 2011. Includes information on more than 1,700 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone.
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health
(From Vendor) Jacqueline L. Longe, ed. 2nd ed. Detroit: Gale, 2007. 3093 pp. This 5-vol. set provides more than 850 entries covering topics in nursing and allied health written for students and professionals in the field. Alphabetically arranged entries cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment.
Gale Encyclopedia of Senior Health: A Guide for Seniors and Their Care Givers
Jacqueline L. Longe, ed. Detroit: Gale, 2009. 2120 pp. 5 vols. Covers various issues related to one's aging body, how diseases affect it, and treatment options, including medications, for said diseases for this population. Also includes topics specific to the aging population, but beyond descriptions of medical diagnoses.
Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests
Brigham Narins, ed. 2nded. Detroit: Gale, 2009. 1784 pp. 4 vols. Provides coverage of numerous surgical procedures, medical tests and related topics, such as anesthetics, common lab test and procedures, medications and postoperative care. Entries for medical test and surgical include definition; purpose; demographic information; diagnosis/preparation; aftercare; risks; morbidity and mortality rates; alternatives; and more
Guide to Congress
(From Vendor) CQ Press. Guide to Congress is the ultimate reference source for comprehensive coverage of the history, powers, operation, and members of the U.S. Congress. Fully updated, this work provides comprehensive coverage of the twelve years of Republican congressional control from 1994 to 2006 plus insight into the Democratic leadership of the legislature following the 2006 mid-term elections
Guide to the Presidency
(From Vendor) CQ Press. Guide to the Presidency is the leading reference for anyone seeking to understand the people who have occupied the White House and the presidency itself. Readers look to this comprehensive guide for its extensive, in-depth coverage of the institution and U.S. presidents as well as its analytical chapters that explain the structure and operations of the office and the executive's relationship to the other, co-equal branches of government.
Handbook of Restorative Justice
Gerry Johnstone and Daniel W. Van Ness, eds. Devon, United Kingdom: Willan Publishing, 2007.
Discusses the key concepts and principles of restorative justice; explains how the campaign for restorative justice arose and developed into an influential social movement; describes the variety of restorative justice practices; and identifies and examines key issues within the restorative justice movement.
History Behind the Headlines: The Origins of Conflicts Worldwide
Sonia G. Benson, Nancy Matuszak, and Meghan Appel O'Meara, eds. Detroit: Gale, 2003.
Presents in-depth information on conflicts appearing in today's headlines. Users are provided with historical background and analysis to events to give a greater understanding of the politics, players, and layers of current affairs.
History of World Trade Since 1450.
John J. McCusker, ed. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2006.
History of World Trade Since 1450 starts at a year regarded as the beginning of the Age of Exploration and examines how the hunt for new resources and markets during that period resulted in the establishment of colonies in Africa, the Americas and Asia. The set looks at the Industrial Revolution, the rise of capitalism and the effects of imperialism on the global economy.
Holidays, Festivals, and Celebrations of the World Dictionary
(From Vendor)Helene Henderson, ed. 3rd ed. Detroit: Omnigraphics, Inc., 2005. 906 pp. Describes 2,500 holidays, festivals, commemorations, holy days, feasts and fasts, and other observances from all parts of the world.
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
(From Vendor)©1992, 2003 Oxford University Press 2nd. edition. The Encyclopedia encompasses the full range of topics in linguistics, including such areas as historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics. Special attention is given to interrelations within these branches of the field and to relations of linguistics with other disciplines. This interdisciplinary focus makes the encyclopedia an invaluable resource not only for linguistics but also for scholars working in the fields of computer science, mathematics, philosophy, the social and behavioral sciences, and literary studies.
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
(From Vendor) Covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the the first edition. Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences. 2008 edition.
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying
(From Vendor) Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying. Robert Kastenbaum, Ed. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2002. 1071 pp. 2 vols. Comprehensive exploration of the place of death in contemporary life. Coverage of topics is broad and multi-disciplinary.
Melton's Encyclopedia of American Religions
J. Gordon Melton, ed. 8thed. Detroit: Gale, 2009. 1386 pp. Comprehensive coverage of more than 2,300 North American religious groups in the U.S. and Canada -- from Adventists to Zen Buddhists. Information is presented in two distinct sections, essays and directory listings describing the historical development of religious families and providing factual information about each group within those families. Includes, when available, rubrics for membership figures, educational facilities and periodicals.
Mental Measurements with Tests in Print
The Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 20000 contemporary testing instruments. Includes testing instruments in psychology, education, business, and leadership.
Tests In Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). A score index permits users to identify what is being measured by each test. Tests in Print is directly linked to the critical, candid test reviews published in the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) series. Users can research current test information from the TIP series and continue their search to all available test reviews published in the MMY series.
National Survey of State Laws
(From Vendor)Richard A. Leiter, ed. 6th ed. Detroit: Gale, 2008. 808 pp. A quick, state-by-state comparison of current state laws -- how they differ and how they're similar -- for a range of relevant subjects from abortion to employment discrimination, child custody to interest rates.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
(From Vendor) New Dictionary of the History of Ideas. Maryanne Horowitz, Ed. Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005. 2780 pp. 6 vols. The publication of the New Dictionary of the History of Ideas marks the return of a reference work that is an essential tool to make the often complex history of "what we think" accessible to students and general readers. The original 1974 Dictionary of the History of Ideas has long been admired as a landmark document encapsulating the thinking of an era. This thoroughly re-envisioned New Dictionary of the History of Ideas brings fresh intelligence and a global perspective to bear on timeless questions about the individual and society. A distinguished team of international scholars explore new thinking in areas previously covered (communism, linguistics, physics) and present cross-cultural perspectives on more recent topics such as postmodernism, deconstruction and post-colonialism.
New Encyclopedia of Africa
(From Vendor) John Middleton and Joseph C. Miller, eds. 2nd ed. Detroit: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2008. 3082 pp. Addresses the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries, some of them newly emergent in world commerce and others deep in conflict. Covers issues facing the continent such as global development, the AIDS crisis, and international terrorism
Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
(From Vendor) Oxford University Press 2006. Written by an international roster of more than 300 authors, the Encyclopedia comprehensively documents and interprets the books read by children throughout the world. With a global perspective that pays attention to significant international trends and the multicultural expansion of the field, it includes brief biographies of every major author and illustrator. Also included are feature essays on all genres of children's literature, individual works, and prominent trends and themes, as well as general essays on the traditions of children's literature in many countries throughout the world.
Sage Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods
(From vendor) Lisa M. Given, ed. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications Inc., 2008. 1014 pp. 2 vols. Defines and explains core concepts, describes the techniques involved in the implementation of qualitative methods, and presents an overview of qualitative approaches to research. Covers every major facet of qualitative methods, including access to research participants, data coding, research ethics, and the role of theory in qualitative research.
Social Change in America: The Historical Handbook
(From Vendor) Patricia C. Becker, ed. 2006 ed. Lanham, MD: Bernan Press, 2006. 307 pp. An insightful commentary about U.S. society and how it has changed--not just in comparison to the past, but also within a global context. Topics include family life, work and employment, housing, wealth and poverty, education, and much more.
Value of a Dollar
(From Vendor) Scott Derks, ed. 3rd ed. Millerton, NY: Grey House Publishing, 2006. 664 pp. This handbook provides records of the actual prices of thousands of items that consumers purchased from the Civil War to the present.
World of Forensic Science
(From Vendor) K. Lee Lerner and Brenda Wilmoth Lerner, eds. Detroit: Gale, 2005. 812 pp. The two-volume World of Forensic Science is a convenient, comprehensive guide to the scientific processes and the legal, social and ethical issues involved in the forensic sciences.
World of Sports Science
K. Lee Lerner and Brenda Wilmoth Lerner, eds. Detroit: Gale, 2007
Covers theoretical and practical treatment of all aspects of sports science and exercise physiology, kinesiology, and biomechanics. Particular emphasis is placed on such high-interest topics as sports medicine, specifically the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of sports injuries; and much more..
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Timothy L. Gall and Jeneen Hobby, eds. 2nded. Detroit: Gale, 2009. 2906 pp. 5 vols. Covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Each volume is organized by continent, covering history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life, and more.